Disappears + Steve Shelley + White/Light

Disappears + Steve Shelley + White/Light LP


In the summer of 2009, Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley and the band’s long time sound engineer, Jeremy Lemos, invited Lemos’ White/Light bandmate Matt Clark and Chicago spacepunx Disappears to come over to Lemos’ Semaphore Recording studio and jam. Their one-afternoon, two-drummers, three-guitarists, no-rules jam evolved into a productive and glorious multi-day freakout, which resulted in the recording of these eight songs. Producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Angel Olsen) later mixed the marathon session with Steve and Jeremy at Echo Canyon West in Hoboken, NJ.

And then… the record disappeared. Sonic Youth went on hiatus, Shelley briefly joined Disappears, Disappears broke up and then evolved into FACS; plans to release the album on Shelley’s Vampire Blues were scuttled and eventually shelved. In the quarantine days of spring of 2020, more than a decade later, Shelley started blowing the dust off old masters he’d had planned for his label over the years, and here we are.

Track List:

1. Never Eternal
2. Legs Woman
3. Anagram
4. Salem
5. Traces
6. Demon Exterminator/ Like You
7. M. Sen
8. Interpretes

You may also like

Recently viewed